Winter is coming.

Today, on my way to lunch, I saw him.  I saw him despite the attempts of the icy chill to make me turn back and run into the building for warmth.  I saw him despite the watering eyes that resulted from a fierce wind whipping at my face.

My Cathedral squirrel, all fattened up for winter.  Being that he is fat to begin with, it was truly a sight to behold.  He sat on his haunches, propped up beside the sidewalk.  We exchanged a meaningful glance as he placed his tiny paws on his comically oversized belly.

I did not attempt to take his picture.  Our game of cat and mouse had amused and sustained me throughout the warmer months.    He brought me joy, he brought me inspiration for my blog.  This was our moment.  I nodded to him and reminded him that I wanted to rub his belly.  He only sat.  As I walked away, I turned back for a moment to see him scamper up a tree.

Goodbye, my chubby rodent friend.  I will see you in the spring.  Then, the game will begin once again.

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment