What’s your favorite color?

Pick a color, any color.

Except orange. God help you if you pick orange.

What am I getting at, you ask?  Well, guess what, kids?

Vincent Kale has finally made his next fantastic work of literature, Indigo, available to his adoring public!

I’ll begin by answering the most important question a book review can address:  yes, I really, really enjoyed this book.  For those of you who are not well acquainted with the science fiction genre, it is important to point out that stories that take place in an alternate time or reality come with their own unique vocabulary and set of sociological environments.  Done poorly, sci-fi (or fantasy, for that matter) can alienate the reader by removing them from the story and creating characters and settings that are out of touch with their audience.  But a skilled sci-fi writer uses these differences to explore common themes – as well as common flaws – in the human condition.  Once Indigo‘s gritty realism latches on, you will frankly forget that you’re reading science fiction.

I love Indigo for its descriptions and its imagery.  I was able to create vivid mental pictures of the world and the characters thanks to Kale’s writing style.  I think the story would translate beautifully to the big screen.  You know, in my imaginary world where people use creative, well-written stories to make movies I would actually want to see.

My only complaint is that, once I had finished reading, I still wanted more.  It was a quick read for me…even quicker than my lightning fast marathon reading of Crawl.  This book has the kind of story that sticks with you well after you’ve finished it, the types of characters that leave you wondering what they’re doing now that the main story is over.  Then you remember that they’re fictional characters, and you feel a little dumb.  After you get over that, you begin to anxiously anticipate future installments in the mythology of their new world.  Or at least that was my experience.

Well played, Vincent Kale.  Well played.

It’s certainly a departure from the creeping terror of Crawl, but Kale makes an impressive transition from the horror genre to a sharp combination of sci-fi, detective fiction, and mystery.

“Don’t worry, you can read me at night.”

The two stories and moods are starkly different, but these books share a very important thread:  Kale’s ability to draw out the humanity in a seemingly distant character, be they dystopian future-dweller or mysterious monster.  Even for those who loved Crawl for its horror roots, Indigo will not disappoint.

Wait, what do you MEAN, you don’t have a copy of Crawl yet?  Check out my review and get yourself over to Lulu to order up your copy now!  Or, if you’re cooler/richer than me, you can download a copy for your portable electronic readin’ device.

Well, because I’d like to wrap up this discussion by bring things around full circle (and because it’s been stuck in my head since I posted that rainbow picture), I would like to end on this joyous, almost definitely drug-induced note:

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Vincent Kale on September 1, 2011 - 5:02 pm

    For the record, in this case…it’s Umber. 😉

    • #2 by Nancy on September 2, 2011 - 12:40 pm

      Well, I’M just mad about Saffron. (BTW, have you heard the rumors about the meaning behind that song? SCANDALOUS.)

  1. Strange Days Are Upon Us « A Cut Above…Something

Leave a Reply

